Type to search

Asiwaju, Omo-Agege distribute N50m cash, N150m relief materials to Delta flood victims

APC News

Asiwaju, Omo-Agege distribute N50m cash, N150m relief materials to Delta flood victims


Distribution of the N50 million cash donated by All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and N150 million worth of relief materials facilitated by Deputy Senate President and Delta APC governorship candidate, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, for flood victims in the state has commenced.

The cash and gift items, which include bags of rice, beans, salt, blankets, seasoning, mosquito nets, clothes, roofing sheets and nails, according to the Director, Communications and Media Strategy, Delta APC Campaign Organisation, Ima Niboro, were forwarded to leaders of the affected areas at the local level for onward distribution to victims in Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) camps across the three senatorial districts.

The items were collected at the Agbarha-Otor home of coordinator of the state APC campaign organisation in Delta Central, Chief Ominimini Obiuwevwi, who, while speaking during the exercise, said the development was in line with the promise made by Tinubu and Omo-Agege a week ago to bring succour to the victims.

He disclosed that the three camps visited by the party last week – Patani (Delta South), Utagba-Ogbe Technical College (Delta North) and Okwagbe Secondary School (Delta Central) – were given N5 million each and other 15 camps would get N2.3million apiece, while the relief materials would be shared equally across the three senatorial districts.

Centres in Delta South that received N2.3 million respectively include those located in Bomadi Town and Tuono in Burutu Local Council; Isaba in Warri South West Local Council; Inorin, Warri South Local Council; the late Francis Senator Okpozo’s compound in Ozoro, Isoko North Local Council and Joel Onovwakpo Thomas campaign headquarters in Emede, Isoko South Local Council.

Those in Delta North that got the N2.3 million each are: NDDC IDP Camp, Kwale, Ndokwa West Local Council; DESOPADEC IDP Camp, Ndokwa East Local Council; Ewulu Mixed Secondary School IDP Camp, Ewulu, Aniocha South Local Council; Basic Secondary School, Illah, Oshimili North Local Council and Onne Primary School Cable Point, Asaba, Oshimili South Local Council.

Similarly, Town Hall, Evwreni in Ughelli North Local Council; Uwheru Grammar School in Ughelli North Local Council; Emadadja Community IDP, Udu Local Council; Eghereka Secondary School, Ewu-Urhobo, Ughelli South Local Council and Aladja Community IDP, Udu Local Council, all in Delta Central, received N2.3 million cash.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *